Davide Delvai, Italy 2017

Davide Delvai, Italy 2017

My goals were to help with the various activities concerning the different projects both in manual and intellectual way. My personal goals were to experience a different way of living, without all the comforts that I use to have and to
understand more my personal soft skills.

Concerning the Madiba project during the morning I was teaching to the teenager Italian and IT class. During the afternoon classes, in the hospital, I was assisting the IT and sometimes the English teachers. Regarding the WaLi project, since I do not speak French I was mostly the photographer and kind of assistant of the other member of the teams, the same for iciangoua.net.

I was completely out of my comfort zone. I tried to do my best to stay with everyone, to help during the various activities and to not complaining when there where something that I did not like.

Web&Development foundation give you the opportunity to do many things. First of all to stay in touch with the African culture, you will be immerse in a local village, where people live with few coins per days. Secondly, you will have the opportunity to teach different topics to kids, teenagers and adults, which give you the ability to see
how effective you are to explain things to people. Moreover, you will have the opportunity to sensibilise the local populations regarding some important issues, like having drinkable water in the house and the importance to be connected on the web for doing business. In addition to that, you will have the opportunity to share the house with local volunteering and from other people from all over the world. Therefore, it is a good opportunity to do something good, to help and empower people and to discover a different culture.

Davide Delvai, Italy 2017

Video in Italian

Francesca Gigliotti, Italy 2017

My goals to work with Webdevfoundation were know the new culture in the real environment and have a good experience with children and also with the others volunteers of difference country. I would like to know the real life of the persons that live so far then my city because I know several people from Africa then coming in Europe in this period and with this experience I would like to have a new informations about the real life of people in the little village.

I expected to know the Cameroonian life in the little village and the real situation of people that live in a small reality. I expected also to work with the children.

 

I participated like observator in this project:
a. Education project:
When I arrived there was a closure school party for the children, the weeks before my arriving in Bangoua others volunteers works in this project and they have organized language programs for them (English, Italian, Spanish and Chinese). There was also other project in the hospital: IT and English class.

b. WaLi:
I was also in the field for the “WaLi” project about the situation of water in the village. We went in the field and collected information with a form about domestic water situation of the village in Bangoua. This is an initial part of the project that will continue in October. This project is very interesting for help the people that live in the village to have a better live and safe life.

My experience in 10 key points:

1. Have a Cross-cultural experience
2. Know Real life in a real little village in Cameron
3. Have the opportunity to development your personal and professional life
4. Share experience with your friends when you back home
5. Have the new knowledge
6. Development own capacity to leave together and spend time to speak about the difference
culture
7. Smile with the children that weak up you with their play
8. Back home with the new experience and wonderful new friends
9. Grow up and have a new open mind
10. Have new things to share in own country

Francesca Gigliotti, Italy 2017

Susy Jian, Italy 2014 & 2017

Susy Jian, Italy 2014 & 2017

My main goal was to have an experience in education with kids and to grow personally speaking. I met Madiba project in 2014 when I was in Cameroon for another internship in an NGO working in Human Rights fields. Already three years ago I was impressed of this project because I saw how much it was concrete and how much it could really change the situation. That’s why this year, I decided to come back to this country and to get part of this project.

I expected to live in a local reality and to get in touch with a real Cameroonian village without any connection with “cities environment”. My intention was that work and create a local impact. Our team was an international team, composed by people from Cameroon, Spain and Italy. The environment was good, and we create a good working atmosphere.

I have already been in Cameroon, and I have already visited Bangoua in 2014, and I am happy about this month because I increased a lot my awareness about the situation concerning education, water issues etc in a rural area of Cameroon. This awareness contributed also to my personal growth and confirmed once again what I want to do in my future life.

It is a concrete project, and it takes you to be in contact with the real local reality of the village and I believe this makes people growth personally. Moreover, I believe that especially in the western countries, too many people need more awareness about what is happening in the work outside from their comfort zone.

During this month, I worked especially with kids, managing classes of Chinese, Italian and extra –activities. It was really nice experience because I have never worked with children and this experience increased a lot my competencies in how to work with them. A part from this, I took part of the English class for hospital workers, both for intermediate and for beginners. It was interesting to see how we have to act differently with kids and adults.

A from the educational experience, I went with my team members to interview people from the village about the water situation and also about the commercial situation of Bangoua. This made possible a direct contact with the reality of the village and increased my awareness about this part of the world.

Susy Jian, Italy 2014/2017